The Alabama legislature established Etowah County on
December 7, 1866. In honor of the confederate soldier, General
David W. Baine, Etowah County was originally named Baine County.
Baine County officially became known as Etowah County on December 1,

Located in the northeastern section of Alabama, our County has a total
of of 535 square miles of land and 14 square miles of water.
Its estimated population totals 103,459 containing roughly 193 people people
per square mile

Etowah County has 17 cities/towns of which Gadsden, Alabama is the county seat.

Our County is bordered by Marshall, DeKalb, Cherokee,
Calhoun, St. Clair, and Blount Counties. Sand Mountain, Lookout Mountain,
and Noccalula Falls are just a few of the attractions found here.

Come visit us… and learn more about our history!